Great Poetry Picture Books

April is Poetry Month. Check out this great selection of children’s picture books.

I am spending most of the day in my classroom getting it ready for after spring break.  As I thought of what picture books to display I immediately knew that I had to celebrate April which is poetry month.  So as I pulled all of our favorite poetry(ish) picture books to put them on display, I thought I should share what my students will hopefully be enticed to read.  Please add your favorites as well.  These are in no particular order.

Winter is Coming by Tony Johnston and illustrated by Jim LaMarche

The Big Box by Toni Morrison and Slade Morrison, illustrated by Giselle Potter

All Different Now: Juneteenth, The First Day of Freedom by Angela Johnson and illustrated by E.B. Lewis

What Forest Knows by George Ella Lyon and illustrated by August Hall

Come On, Rain! by Karen Hesse illustrated by Jon J. Muth

One Today by Richard Blanko…

View original post 207 more words

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

