Stitch of the Week: Bobble Kitchen Sponge Pattern

Time for a new kitchen scrubbie. I really dislike how the store-bought sponges have to be tossed so quickly. These little gems can go right in the washer. Economical, earth-friendly and you can color-match any way you’d like. Cheers!

Book People Studio

IMG_0419

Ask 10 people what they use to wash dishes, and you’ll get 10 different answers. I used to have one of those brushes where you fill the handle with soap. Then I went through a rag stage. But most recently, I switched to sponges.

I use traditional green and yellow sponges, and, as we all know, they don’t last forever. At some point, they start to stink and they have to be thrown out. My husband tries to make them last by microwaving them in bleach, but that usually just makes them fall apart.

After the last bleach-microwave episode, I decided to crochet a sponge that I wouldn’t have to throw away. I can throw these little beauties in the wash, and voila! Like new.

IMG_0418

One side has bobbles, and the other is flat. The “bobbles” are made from crocheting a combination of single crochet and triple crochet. Since the…

View original post 336 more words

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

