`Five Minute Friday’: Write

Photo credit: Michael Verhoef

Photo credit: Michael Verhoef

“Five Minute Friday” is a weekly event that has been described as a writing flash mob.  Every week Lisa-Jo Baker announces a new writing prompt and all the participants free-write for — yep, you guessed it — five minutes.  No editing.  Just real.  Free.  Raw.  Want to know how it all got started?  Read the back story.  Sound like fun?  Come on over and join us!

This week’s prompt is “Write“. To introduce this week’s prompt Lisa Jo wrote “How to write and live brave (when you’re terrified)“.

Now it’s my turn.

Ready.

Set.

Go!

Write

Words.

I love words.

Sometimes, they grab my attention by bumping, banging, clashing and clamoring about making a mess of the small wispy thoughts I’m trying to put into intelligible communication.

Other times, though, I catch them ducking just out of reach hoping I’ll dismiss them for a passing shadow. Those are the words that need to come out. The quiet ones.

There’s a skill to writing. It’s true. Sometimes, though, I hold back on what I need to say because someone might not like it, or agree with me, or they may just think I’m dumb. At those moments writing is for the brave. The very brave.

This blog is my way of priming the pump. I’m hoping that one day soon I’ll take a leap and write some brave things. One day soon you’ll find them. Right now, though, they’re still hiding among all the loud words.

Related “Five Minute Friday: Write” posts:

One Response

  1. Thanks for the mention of my post! God bless you, girlfriend!

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

