2014 NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge, hosted by Falling For YA

Image

Hello, NetGalley. Hey, Edelweiss. Dear friends.

I actually wondered the other day if it was possible to have *too many* e-books on my Nook tablet.

Is it conceivable that the Kindle app on my Nook could explode if I keep feeding my reader? These days, there are so many excellent pre-release e-books available to librarians that I seem to have gorged myself on the awesome buffet provided by top-notch publishers and authors via NetGalley and Edelweiss. Thankfully, Falling For YA blog is hosting a challenge that sounds like a perfect solution to my dilemma. Here’s how they put it:

Have you ever logged on to Edelweiss or Netgalley with the intention of “Just Looking” and then logging off  having requested 5 new titles even though your TBR is a mile long? Inspired by Netgalley November the 2014 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge will (hopefully) give you the incentive to tackle your review books, stumble upon new ones, and get your Netgalley percentage to the desired 80%!

Now that sounds like a good plan. The rules are simple. As long as you accessed the title from either NetGalley or Edelweiss you can count it toward your total goal. There will be monthly roundup posts and giveaways for participants. I’m a little less nervous about selecting a level for this Challenge because the rules permit moving up or down levels as you feel the need. Here are the levels:

Levels:

Aluminum – 5 books
Bronze – 10 books
Silver – 25 books

Gold – 50 books <– I’m going for the *Gold*! I mean, I am reading these books. That hasn’t been a problem. All I have to do is tackle my review pile. I can ‘book talk’ all day long, but I’ve somewhat neglected putting my reviews in writing. However, 2014 provides a golden opportunity to set new goals and accept new challenges. For me, this one will mean tackling my review pile.

Platinum – 75 books
Diamond– 100 books

What about you? Are you in the same situation as the rest of us? Why don’t you join us? Just head over to Falling For YA‘s blog to sign up. If I hurry, I’ll be participant #120.

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

