The New Comprehensive American Rhyming Dictionary by Sue Young

The New Comprehensive American Rhyming Dictionary by Sue Young

I participated in National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) this year. I didn’t want boring, run-of-the-mill rhymes so I checked out several rhyming dictionaries from my library. At first, I thought a book with 85,000 words would be better than one with 65,000 but I was wrong. It all depends on how many of those words are useful to you. This book was by far the easiest to use and contained more useful words than any of the others. I love it!

What I like best is that you look up the sound you want to rhyme (like ‘at’ in cat) instead of looking up a particular word. So, if you are looking for more rhyming words then I would highly recommend this title.

Young, Sue. The New Comprehensive American Rhyming Dictionary. New York: W. Morrow, 1991. Print.

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

