‘In Two Words’ Contemplative Practice: Introduction

Photo credit:  Kristin Hoppe, flickr under CC License

Photo credit: Kristin Hoppe
under CC License

The act of putting pen to paper encourages pause for thought, this in turn makes us think more deeply about life, which helps us regain our equilibrium. — Norbet Platt

There’s a creative activity I like to engage in that allows me to walk away from a quote with a greater benefit than merely having viewed words with a quick scan of the eye.  I call it “In Two Words”.

When I post a quote I encourage you to join with me and consider the quote long enough to formulate a response “in two words”.

Once you have a two-word answer you may find yourself moving beyond that response to clarify and to add your voice on the topic.  That’s okay, but try to get that two-word answer first.

Have you ever tried anything like this?  What have you tried?  Has it worked well for you?  I’m always open to learning new ideas for contemplative practice.  I hope you’ll share with me.

3 Responses

  1. […] There’s a creative activity I like to engage in that allows me to walk away from a quote with a greater benefit than merely having viewed words with a quick scan of the eye.  I call it “In Two Words”.  You can find out more about it in the introductory post. […]

    Like

  2. […] ‘In Two Words’ Contemplative Practice: Introduction (o2bheavenlyminded.com) […]

    Like

  3. […] There’s a creative activity I like to engage in that allows me to walk away from a quote with a greater benefit than merely having viewed words with a quick scan of the eye.  I call it “In Two Words”.  You can find out more about it in the introductory post. […]

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

