`Five Minute Friday’: Jump

Photo credit:  mcgmatt, flickr under CC License

Photo credit: mcgmatt, flickr
under CC License

“Five Minute Friday” is a weekly event that has been described as a writing flash mob.  Every week Lisa-Jo Baker announces a new writing prompt and all the participants free-write for — yep, you guessed it — five minutes.  No editing.  Just real.  Free.  Raw.  Want to know how it all got started?  Read the back story.  Sound like fun?  Come on over and join us!

This week’s prompt is “Jump“.

Ready.

Set.

Go!

Jump

Here I am.  On vacation with my kids.  My adventurous 14-year-old pleads, “I want to go hang gliding … for my birthday.”  “It’s all I want,” he adds.  Finally, I give in.  Actually, I’ve thought it through for the past three months after the first time he mentioned it.  Okay, fine.  You can do it.

“Well, you have to do it too.  You have to go with me!”

Ahhh! What! Oh, no.  I’m not jumping out of a perfectly good airplane.  I know that’s parachuting not hang gliding but I’m not really seeing a big difference at the moment.  I like the ground, the dirt, the beach, basically anything where I can plant my feet.  Floating in the sky attached to a kite – no engine, mind you – just the wings of a kite and the pull of gravity does not sound like fun to me.

“You’ve got a choice, Mom,” he says.  You can pick 1,000-feet or 2,500-feet.  Um, gulp.  Great choices.

Seems life is like that too sometimes.  You’ve got choices but none of them sound appealing – in the least bit.  This is where faith comes in.  Sometimes all we can do is rely on the truths we learned from scripture, from trusted friends and those that have been proven through our own life experiences.  We just have to make the best decision we can based on the information we have to work with.  I believe that when we make our very best choice with the advice of godly counselors, God will make up the difference.

2 Responses

  1. Now I want to know which height you chose?! Admirable for facing your fears! One of mine is sky diving. Scared but it has to happen someday. http://bellesbazaar-heather.blogspot.com/2014/03/jump-5-minute-prompt.html

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

