`Five Minute Friday’: Here

Stay Low (Photo Credit: The U.S. Army)

Stay Low (Photo Credit: The U.S. Army)

“Five Minute Friday” is a weekly event that has been described as a writing flash mob.  Every week Lisa-Jo Baker announces a new writing prompt and all the participants free-write for — yep, you guessed it — five minutes.  No editing.  Just real.  Free.  Raw.  Want to know how it all got started?  Read the back story.  Sound like fun?  Come on over and join us!

This week’s prompt is “Here“.

Ready.

Set.

Go!

Here

Here I am.  In the stillness.  The cat stretched out and purring, sleeps by my side.  The air cycles on.  The refrigerator cycles on.  My memory cycles on.  One memory in particular.  On Monday, April 1, my son, his dad and I met at the U.S. Army Recruiting Station.  We were about to embark on an adventure he has been talking about for most of his 17 years.  Military life.

As the recruiter questioned and probed, my son confirmed that, yes, this is his decision and he is 100% sure that he wants to enlist now.  Active or reserves?  Active.  Army or Marines (which was a consideration)?  Army.  Now or after high school?  Now.  Eight year commitment – first active, then on stand-by reserves.  How are your grades?  What kind of friends do you hang out with?  Do you take any drugs?  On and on.  As they talked, my heart pounded.  I was sure they could hear it.  I felt the throbbing in my ears.  My son.  I knew this day was coming.  But now its here.  Really here.

I tried to focus on the recruiter.  Do I have any questions?  I’m sure I do I just can’t seem to think of them right now.  Can I call you?  I was getting dizzy.  Not from the conversation I realized but from the backdrop of the recruiter’s desk.  Directly behind him was a striped backdrop – dark green and beige, or dark navy and off-white.  I can’t remember.  Just made it hard to see the recruiter’s face clearly.  But I didn’t want to look away, didn’t want to give the wrong impression or message.  I’m okay with this.  It’s hard, but I’m okay with it.

Do I have any doubts about the day?  No.  Is this what my son wants to do?  Yes.  Am I okay with it?  I’m a mom – that’s what I told the recruiter.  I’m emotional, not crying, just trying to breathe.  I’m a mom, but deep down I’m really okay with it.  I’ll always be his Mom.

His dad and I have raised a fine young man.  One who is very strong, but wants to be Army Strong.  I believe firmly that God directs our paths.  This path is His path, wherever it may lead, for my son.  I love him and will always support him.  But I know that he is also God’s child and even when I can’t physically be there for him, God will always be by his side.

 

4 Responses

  1. Visiting from FMF. Blessings to your son and to your family on this journey!

    Like

  2. You expressed your emotions so well. Lovely post. May God bless you and your family as your son goes through these next few years. Military life is not for the faint of heart!

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

