NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 7, ‘On the Lake’

Photo by Joel Dinda / flickrunder CC license

Photo by Joel Dinda / flickr
under CC license

On the Lake

I asked the 
gator why he was trolling
And he 
smiled and lazily swished his tail 
I asked the 
gull why she was scouting
And she caught the wind and skimmed across the surface of the lake
I asked the 
fish, “Why do you hide among the pilings?”
And he
swam and hid in the darkness under the pier
I asked the 
fisherman, “What are you using for bait?”
And he held up his line and showed me a worm wiggling on a hook

I asked the full 
moon to shine
And it did and the
 light glimmered across the lake
I asked the floating 
pier, “Why do you shelter the fish?”
And it 
rocked and swayed under the incoming boater’s wake
I asked the 
boater, “Did you catch anything?”
And the young 
boater held up his catch
The boat pitched
The fish fell
The
 gator pounced
The
 gull swooped
The fisherman turned
And I kept quiet

Under the glimmering light of the moon

 

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

