NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 1, ‘Me and My Shadow’

Photo by Dietmut Teijgeman-Hansen / flickr
under CC license

In my introductory post for National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) I recommended Educational Technology Training Center (ETTC).  I decided to take my advice and use one of their instant poetry forms.  The instructions on their site state, “choose your poetry form from the list of links on the left.  Then just add words to make the poem your own.”  I decided to see just how easy it would be to create a poem using one of their forms.  I selected “Me and My Shadow”.  Here is my poem:

 

Me and My Shadow

My shadow wears
long flowing skirts
flat mary janes
big flowery barrettes
Her hair is like
a deep red sunset
My shadow is a sunflower
full-faced, strong and tall
stretching high into the sky
almost reaching the sun

 

5 Responses

  1. […] NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 1 (o2bheavenlyminded.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Hi Kimberley,
    It’s a lovely poem and look forward to reading more. And thanks for swinging by my NaPoWriMo blog. I’m trying to have fun with 30 haikus for the 30 day challenge!
    I’d love you to check out my main blog ‘Creating life with words: Inspiration, love and truth’ at http://kateswaffer.com/
    Great blog here too.
    Cheers, Kate

    Like

  3. Thank you muchly for linking to my blog🙂

    I really enjoyed this poem. It’s great because it suggests – for me – as much about the ‘me’ as the shadow, without saying anything at all.

    Like

    • You’re welcome. 🙂

      There are so many blogs out there participating in NaPoWriMo. I try to pick blogs that really appeal to me because I consider the link to be my recommendation to other readers. So, thanks for you’re great contributions!

      Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

