`Five Minute Friday’: Broken

Grumpy mug pic

My broken Grumpy mug

Last Friday I discovered a fantastic writing prompt generator.  No, it’s not computer-generated.  It’s Lisa-Jo Baker generated.  Lisa-Jo is the host of “Five Minute Friday”.  This weekly event has been described as a writing flash mob.  Every week Lisa-Jo announces a new writing prompt and all the participants free-write for — yep, you guessed it — five minutes.  No editing.  Just real.  Free.  Raw.  Want to know how it all got started?  Read the back story.  Sound like fun?  Come on over and join us!

This week’s prompt is Broken.

Ready.

Set.

Go!

Broken.

I can’t believe it.  I don’t even know how I did it.  I broke my favorite, favorite coffee mug.  It was a gift from a good friend.  I was going through a rough spot – I seem to have a lot of those – and I hung out at her house for a few days.  Grr.  I couldn’t care anymore.  Grr.  I was done.

“Come,” she said.  “Let’s have some tea.”  She let me pick whatever mug I wanted to use.  I picked Grumpy.  I always picked Grumpy.  For some reason, looking at Grumpy – Snow White’s Grumpy – made me feel better.  As I sipped my tea and shared dessert with my friend the world around me slipped away and in that moment I got to just ‘be’.

During that stay I learned that sometimes stepping away from the issues that cause such strong, raw emotions can help bring the important things back into focus.  And, if I remember correctly, Grumpy just acted grumpy but deep down inside he really cared.  After a few days of tea and dessert with my friend, and Grumpy of course, I realized that even though I acted or felt grumpy, deep down inside I really did care too.

2 Responses

  1. Welcome, Kimberly! I’m sure you’ve already discovered what a wonderful and encouraging community this is. Loved your writing here. It captivated me from the beginning, and I didn’t want it to end. Great post. ~Tanya, visiting from FMF

    Like

  2. I love that you have a friend and a place where you are able to be your grumpy self. I am sorry that you broke your mug…sad =(

    stopping by from FMF

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

