Review: AndroidForNook (AFN Products, LLC) 32GB Jelly Bean Bootable Android Micro SD Card For Nook HD+ (BNTV600)

ImageThe AndroidForNook (AFN Products, LLC) 32GB Jelly Bean Bootable Android Micro SD Card For Nook HD+ (BNTV600) is a problem-solver for what I consider to be Nook HD+ flaws. I purchased the AFN card to transform my Nook HD+ into a fully-functioning Android tablet.  Here’s what I think:
 
 
BACKGROUND INFO:

After reading many of the reviews on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CNet and several other technology-related sites, as well as going to Best Buy to perform a hands-on “test-drive” of each device I decided that the Nook HD+ better suited my intended purposes for a reader/tablet.

NOTE:

I intend to post a Nook HD+ review on this site to provide more information about the reasons I chose the Nook HD+ over the Kindle Fire. THIS review mentions three negative aspects of the Nook HD+ and then describes the product I found that addresses those concerns.

REVIEW:

One of the things I did not like about either device is the inability to read Amazon books on the Nook and vice-versa. Prior to my tablet purchase I already owned books in Kindle format. I also already own books not available in the Kindle format. I wanted to access all of my books on one device.

A second thing I did not like was the Nook HD+ browser. It left much to be desired. In this age of instant gratification and my having become accustomed to that (as far as internet access is concerned), I wanted the browser to load the page I requested without delay. That just wasn’t happening on my Nook HD+.

A third thing I did not like was that B&N censored the Android apps that could be downloaded onto Nook devices. I wanted full access to the world of Android apps.

Having already purchased my Nook HD+ and not wanting to give up what I felt were more important aspects of the device, I searched the web for options. I came across a possible solution to these three concerns. I decided to purchase a memory card that would make my Nook HD+ a fully-functioning Android device. There were two strong contenders. I picked this AFN card for these reasons:

(1) It promised to enhance my new Nook HD+ without voiding my warranty.
(2) It had a 14-day no-questions-asked return policy. You don’t like it they’ll take it back.
(3) It was less expensive than the closest contender, and
(4) The developers provided a highly-rated customer support staff and discussion board.
(5) *Bonus* As an unexpected bonus, the memory card came with a free USB card reader so you can transfer files etc. to and from the device without having to make an additional purchase.

I followed the included directions. To be honest it didn’t work the first few times I tried it. I was concerned. I went to the discussion boards and put in search terms which immediately brought up discussions between users who were having the same difficulty and AFN’s support staff. It took about 45 minutes of reading and trying various solutions before I found one that worked. I read on the discussion board that because the Nook HD+ is a newer device the developers were still in the process of tweeking the card to correct new conflicts. Additionally, there seemed to be more problems with the 32G than the 16G. I can’t guarantee that there were no product returns but in all of the related discussions I read, the customers ultimately reported success and satisfaction.

One thing I don’t like about the AFN card – which may be corrected with further development – is the inability to easily switch between “Nook HD+ mode” and the Android tablet. Based on the discussions I found on their support website I do not think this is a problem on the other Nook devices, just the HD+. In order to use my device in “Nook HD+ mode” I would have to turn the device off, remove the SD card and then turn the device back on. I can read my Nook-dedicated magazines, books and files with AFN but I can’t thumb through my store catalogs or play Nook-dedicated games. If this becomes a possibility in the future, I hope the AFN developers will notify previous purchasers. Please note that this is an extremely minor inconvenience. I don’t often want or need to flip through store catalogs.

Note: Throughout this review I referred to my device as the Nook HD+. Hopefully that wasn’t annoying to you, the reader. My intention was to avoid confusion for others seeking help with their Nook devices. During my web searches I found that many of the recommendations and reviews I went to turned out to be for Nooks other than the HD+. It wasted time. I hope my reference saved time for you.

Even though I cannot switch easily between modes, I gave this five stars because the product works as stated in the developer’s advertising and because it solves all of the problems that I was looking to solve.

This is a verified purchase. I did not receive any compensation from the makers of AFN for a favorable review. I paid full price.

One Response

  1. I have a AFN card on my nook color tablet, model 250/250A.
    The only drawback is that you have to plug it into the wall for it to boot off of the AFN card, that’s only on some model 250 and 250A Nook Color Tablets.
    I might get a chip to root my Nook Color model 200 to a dedicated Android Tablet

    Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

