365 Ways to Say ‘I Love You’ to Your Kids by Jay Payleitner

Image

365 Ways to Say ‘I Love You’ to Your Kids by Jay Payleitner

365 WAYS TO SAY “I LOVE YOU” TO YOUR KIDS by Jay Payleitner is a treasure-trove of wit and wisdom. This book is like a bowl of grapes. Open to any page, grab one and go. The result will be a sweet moment between parent and child. There are sections that pertain to various ages and stages of life but most of the 365 ways can be applied across the lifespan of the relationship. At this moment, perhaps because of the ages of my sons, I like #280 the most. It says, “Decide now how you will respond to a phone call every parent dreads. `I wrecked the car.’ `I’m flunking out.’ `I’m at the police station.’ `I’m pregnant.’ `My girlfriend is pregnant.’ Recommended response: `I love you. It’ll be okay. We’ll work through this together.'” Perfect! Every parent should own this book.

NOTE: I requested and received a copy of this title via NetGalley.com but made no commitment to review it.

5 Responses

  1. Amazing! If I ever had done something wrong and I needed my parents help, they always responded by getting angry first. It really drove a wedge between us and I stopped talking to them about my problems. It really made our relationship much more difficult in my teen years because my parents couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t talk to them.

    Like

    • It’s interesting to hear the ‘story behind the story’. Many parents question ‘why won’t my child/teen talk to me’ without considering that the difficulties could have stemmed from interactions that happened much earlier in the parent/child relationship. I understand from experience how painful that can be. We can’t change the past but we can learn from it. I chose to proactively foster positive relationships with my own children. Relationships – not just the parent/child ones – take a lot of effort. Am I a perfect parent? Umm, no. Do I get up and try again? Yes. That’s the best we can do.

      Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate it. Blessings and peace to you.

      Like

  2. When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment
    is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    Like

    • Hi Nichole,
      I’m sorry for the trouble. From your message I understand why you are getting one email, but I’m not sure why you’re getting four emails. I do not know of a way to ‘uncheck’ that notification but there is probably a link on the bottom of each email which will allow you to change that on your own.
      Thanks for letting me know.
      Kimberly

      Like

I'd love to discuss this with you. What do you think?

